Firm

The patent law firm Torggler & Hofinger was founded in 1952 in Innsbruck and enjoys excellent reputation. The firm has six patent attorneys and employs a staff of about 25.

Our patent attorneys are not only Austrian patent attorneys, but also European patent attorneys acting at the European Patent Office. We are also entitled to represent at the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, which is the registry of European Union Trademarks and European Union Designs (Community Designs), and at the WIPO in Geneva, which is the registry of International Trademarks and International Designs.

On an international scale, we work with a long-standing and established network of patent attorneys and lawyers all over the world. These partners represent our clients' matters together with us acting as a central contact.

Dr. Paul Torggler
Dr. Paul Torggler studied theoretical physics concentrating on laser physics and electronics. He has been working as a patent attorney with Torggler & Hofinger since 1994 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland. Dr. Paul Torggler is a member of the Examination Board for Austrian patent attorneys.
Dr. Paul Torggler
Dr. Stephan Hofinger
Dr. Stephan Hofinger studied mechanical engineering and economics. The main results of his thesis on economical aspects of the patent system are summarized in Harvard Business Manager, 01/99. He also is a co-author of “marken.schutz”, the leading guide to Austrian trademark law. Dr. Stephan Hofinger has been working as a patent attorney with Torggler & Hofinger since 2001 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland. Dr. Stephan Hofinger has been a member of the Board of the Austrian Chamber of Patent Attorneys since 2003 and organizes the Chamber's training program for future Austrian patent attorneys.
Dr. Stephan Hofinger
Dr. Markus Gangl
Dr. Markus Gangl studied theoretical physics at the University of Innsbruck. He graduated in Quantum Optics concentrating on laser cooling of neutral atoms and published several papers in leading physics journals. Dr. Markus Gangl has been working as a patent attorney with Torggler & Hofinger since 2007 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland.
Dr. Markus Gangl
Dr. Christoph Maschler
Dr. Christoph Maschler studied physics and mathematics at the University of Innsbruck and graduated with diploma theses about the scattering of atoms within an atomic trap and about functional-analytical foundations of quantum mechanics. In the context of his dissertation in the field of theoretical quantum optics, he was concerned with the interaction of ultracold atoms in optical lattices. Several publications in leading physics journals resulted from this work. Dr. Christoph Maschler has been working as a patent attorney with Torggler & Hofinger since 2013 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland.
Dr. Christoph Maschler
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner studied telecommunications technology in Salzburg and Berlin, and developed a quality-of-service-based resource management system for data streams as part of his thesis. In his dissertation on the topic "Defects in Random Number Routines of Well-Known Network Simulators and Appropriate Improvements", he investigated the problem of adulterated simulation results due to deficiently implemented random number generators. Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner has been working for the patent law firm Torggler & Hofinger as a patent attorney since 2016 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland.
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner
Dr. Almar Lercher
Dr. Almar Lercher studied physics at the University of Würzburg and at the State University of New York. Within the framework of his Ph.D. thesis in the field of experimental quantum physics, he investigated mixtures of ultracold atoms in the vicinity of absolute zero. Several publications in leading physics journals resulted from this work. Dr. Almar Lercher has been working for the patent law firm Torggler & Hofinger as a patent attorney since 2016 and is a professional representative before the Austrian Patent Office in Vienna, the European Patent Office, the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the World Intellectual Property Office in Geneva, Switzerland.
Dr. Almar Lercher

Candidate

Dr. Florian Robl

Dr. Florian Robl studied physics in Innsbruck and Tromsø and concluded these studies with the diploma thesis “Survival Amplitudes of Gaussian Quantum States”. During his doctoral studies in Cardiff/Wales, he worked on constructive thermal quantum field theory. Dr. Florian Robl has been working for the patent law firm Torggler & Hofinger since June 2012 as a candidate.



Staff

Technical Officers

  • Ing. Lucas Grabenweger
  • Mag.(FH) Natalis Ganzer
  • Wolfgang Kunwald
  • Werner Kuhnert
  • David Baier
  • Lukas Oberhammer
  • Philipp Neuner
  • Paul Haslwanter

Informatics

  • Daniel Schrott BSc

Foreign Filing Department

  • Monika Wolf
  • Barbara Zwinz

Accounting

  • Martina Hager
  • Gabriele Witting
  • Sabine Taxer

Annuities

  • Mag. Katrin Thöni-Payr

Office

  • Gerlinde Binder
  • Anna Mitteregger
  • Sabine von der Thannen
  • Nina Mair
  • Monika Siller-Vital de Almeida

Administration

  • Josef Haslwanter
  • Rita Flatscher
  • Christina Reiner

Trademarks Department

  • Heidi Gruber
  • MMag. Margit Groß
  • Catherine Pröm

Publications

How to reach us
Torggler & Hofinger
Wilhelm-Greil-Straße 16
6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 583402
+43 512 583408

Kanzlei

Die Patentanwaltskanzlei Torggler & Hofinger wurde 1952 in Innsbruck gegründet. Die renommierte Kanzlei wird heute von sechs Patentanwälten geführt und beschäftigt rund 30 Mitarbeiter.

Unsere Patentanwälte sind nicht nur österreichische Patentanwälte, sondern auch vor dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem für EU-Marken (Unionsmarken) und EU-Muster (Gemeinschaftsgeschmacksmuster) zuständigen Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante sowie vor der für internationale Marken und internationale Muster zuständigen Weltorganisation für geistiges Eigentum (WIPO) in Genf vertretungsbefugt.

Auf internationaler Ebene verfügen wir über ein jahrzehntelang etabliertes Netzwerk von Patent- und Rechtsanwälten, die gemeinsam mit uns als zentralem Ansprechpartner die Interessen unserer Klienten vertreten.

Dr. Paul Torggler
Dr. Paul Torggler hat an der Universität Innsbruck theoretische Physik studiert, wobei sein besonderes Interesse der Laserphysik (Free Electron Laser) und Elektronik galt. Er verfasste seine Dissertation auf dem Gebiet der Berechnung von Bahnen ultraschneller Elektronen in Magnetfeldern, beschäftigte sich aber andererseits auch eingehend mit experimenteller Physik (Messtechnik). Dr. Paul Torggler ist seit 1994 in der Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger als Patentanwalt tätig und vor dem österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante sowie der Weltorganisation für geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen. Dr. Paul Torggler ist Mitglied der Prüfungskommission für österreichische Patentanwälte.
Dr. Paul Torggler
Dr. Stephan Hofinger
Dr. Stephan Hofinger hat Maschinenbau und Wirtschaftswissenschaften studiert. Er verfasste seine Dissertation über wirtschaftliche Aspekte des Patentwesens (zusammengefasst in Harvard Business Manager, Heft 01/99). Darüber hinaus ist er Co-Autor des österreichischen Markenrechtskommentars „marken.schutz“. Dr. Stephan Hofinger ist seit 2001 als Patentanwalt in der Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig und vor dem Österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und der Weltorganisation für geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen. Dr. Stephan Hofinger ist seit 2003 im Vorstand der österreichischen Patentanwaltskammer und organisiert deren Ausbildungsprogramm.
Dr. Stephan Hofinger
Dr. Markus Gangl
Dr. Markus Gangl hat an der Universität Innsbruck theoretische Physik mit Schwerpunkt Quantenoptik studiert. In seiner Diplomarbeit und seiner Dissertation beschäftigte er sich mit der Laserkühlung von Atomen und hat in diesem Zusammenhang mehrere Artikel in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht. Dr. Markus Gangl ist seit 2007 als Patentanwalt in der Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig und vor dem österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und der Weltorganisation für geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen.
Dr. Markus Gangl
Dr. Christoph Maschler
Dr. Christoph Maschler hat an der Universität Innsbruck Physik und Mathematik studiert und mit Diplomarbeiten über die Streuung von Atomen innerhalb einer atomaren Falle sowie über funktionalanalytische Grundlagen der Quantenmechanik abgeschlossen. Im Rahmen seiner Dissertation auf dem Gebiet der theoretischen Quantenoptik befasste er sich mit der Wechselwirkung von ultrakalten Atomen in optischen Gittern. Aus dieser Arbeit sind mehrere Publikationen in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften entstanden. Dr. Christoph Maschler ist seit 2013 als Patentanwalt in der Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig und vor dem Österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und der Weltorganisation für Geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen.
Dr. Christoph Maschler
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner hat Telekommunikationstechnik und –systeme in Salzburg und Berlin studiert und im Rahmen seiner Diplomarbeit ein Quality-of-service basiertes Ressourcenverwaltungssystem für Datenströme entwickelt. In seiner Dissertation mit dem Thema „Defects in Random Number Routines of Well-Known Network Simulators and Appropriate Improvements” ging er auf das Problem von verfälschten Simulationsergebnissen aufgrund mangelhaft implementierter Zufallszahlengeneratoren ein. Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner ist seit 2016 als Patentanwalt für die Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig und vor dem Österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und der Weltorganisation für Geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen.
Dr. Bernhard Hechenleitner
Dr. Almar Lercher
Dr. Almar Lercher studierte Physik an der Universität Würzburg und der State University of New York. Im Rahmen seiner Dissertation an der Universität Innsbruck beschäftigte er sich auf dem Gebiet der experimentellen Quantenphysik mit Gemischen ultrakalter Atome in der Nähe des absoluten Nullpunkts und war dabei an mehreren wissenschaftlichen Publikationen in international renommierten Fachzeitschriften beteiligt. Dr. Almar Lercher ist seit 2016 als Patentanwalt für die Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig und vor dem Österreichischen Patentamt in Wien, dem Europäischen Patentamt, dem Amt der Europäischen Union für geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO) in Alicante und der Weltorganisation für Geistiges Eigentum in Genf als Vertreter zugelassen.
Dr. Almar Lercher

Konzipienten

Dr. Florian Robl

Dr. Florian Robl hat in Innsbruck und Tromsø Physik studiert und sein Studium mit der Diplomarbeit „Überlebensamplituden Gauß´scher Quantenzustände“ abgeschlossen. Beim Doktorat in Cardiff/Wales hat er sich mit konstruktiver thermischer Quantenfeldtheorie beschäftigt. Dr. Florian Robl ist als Konzipient für die Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig.

Martin Schwingshackl, BSc MSc

Martin Schwingshackl hat in Innsbruck theoretische Physik mit Schwerpunkt Quantenphysik studiert und sein Studium mit der Masterarbeit „Variational Casimir effect for the multi-critical Ising model series with the truncated conformal space approach” abgeschlossen. Martin Schwingshackl ist seit 2019 als Konzipient für die Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig.

Dr. Ulrich Kuenzer

Ulrich Kuenzer hat an der Universität Innsbruck technische Mathematik sowie Material- und Nanowissenschaften studiert. Während seiner anschließenden Promotion in theoretischer Chemie hat er sich mit theoretischer Spektroskopie beschäftigt, insbesondere mit der Numerov Methode zur Lösung der Schrödingergleichung. Seit 2019 ist Ulrich Kuenzer als Konzipient für die Kanzlei Torggler & Hofinger tätig.

 

 

Mitarbeiter

Referenten

  • Ing. Lucas Grabenweger
  • Mag. (FH) Natalis Ganzer
  • Wolfgang Kunwald
  • David Baier
  • Lukas Oberhammer
  • Paul Haslwanter
  • Felix Grüner

Informatik

  • Daniel Schrott BSc
  • Thomas Fröhlich BSc

Auslandsabteilung

  • Monika Wolf
  • Barbara Zwinz

Buchhaltung

  • Martina Hager
  • Gabriele Witting
  • Sabine Taxer

Jahresgebühren

  • Mag. Katrin Thöni-Payr
  • Monika Siller-Vital de Almeida

Sekretariat

  • Gerlinde Binder
  • Anna Mitteregger
  • Sabine von der Thannen
  • Nina Mair
  • Stephanie Wimpissinger
  • Sabine Aumayr
  • Constanze Bilz

Markenabteilung

  • Caroline Lutschitsch
  • MMag. Margit Groß

Administration

  • Josef Haslwanter
  • Rita Flatscher
  • Christina Reiner

Publikationen

So erreichen Sie uns
Torggler & Hofinger
Wilhelm-Greil-Straße 16
6020 Innsbruck
+43 512 583402
+43 512 583408